Grand Hotel Portovenere Reviews

Your reviews matter to us!

We take immense pride in reading the reviews left by our guests, the great majority of which appreciate our well-appointed rooms, friendly staff, excellent dining  and strategic location in the Italian Riviera . The management team at Grand Hotel Portovenere reads all reviews to further look into improvement opportunities and to keep being one of the best hotels in the Italian Riviera, delivering unforgettable experiences near the Cinque Terre.

  • Probably one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at!

    Loved, loved, loved this hotel! From arrival in the parking garage to our check out, it was pure professionalism! The location cannot be faulted - right on the edge of the Gulf of Poets, it overlooks the little

  • 5 Star Service Waterfront Hotel

    Have traveled for two weeks in Italy and stayed at some of the best hotels but none of them had as good of service as this hotel it’s a wonderful location for visiting the small towns and has plenty of restaurants

  • Five Stars

    This a simply wonderful Hotel which deserves five stars. We stayed in a beautifully appointed junior suite, very comfortable bed, daily turn down service and all amenities that you need. The room was very clean

  • The highlight of our northern tour of Italy!

    Wow this place is great! The gem of Italy and gateway to Cinque Terra. We chose Portovenere as we felt that the Cinque Terre would be a little too busy and we were right. The room we had was stunning as we had

  • Amazing Views

    This hotel is all about the view. It was stunning. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the water and town and words can't describe how pretty it is. I would highly recommend the hotel if you plan on visiting

  • Location, Location Location

    We had a room with a terrace facing the sea. It was an enjoyable experience to watch the sun setting over this charming village. Portovenere is the honorary sixth town of the Cinque Terre without as many tourists.

  • Spectacular Seaside Setting

    5-star accommodations, service and food with a spectacular view of the port and village. Steps to anything you want, and the ferry to Cinque Terre is right at the front door. A leisurely professionalism sets the

  • The best stay while traveling through 5 Terre

    Spectacular views with a Cinque Terre-like village all in one. The rooms are very modern with soft spa-like colors with nice sized rooms with large bathrooms too. Besides the AMAZING sea view there is a smaller

  • Excellent starting place to visit Cinque Terre

    We chose this town (Portovenere) as a good place to explore the Cinque Terre.
    This hotel is right on the water and the ferries to the Cinque Terre are right there, so it is easy to visit them by ferry, hop

  • One of the best!

    My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights at the end the end of September, and even before we got there I got an impression of friendliness and professionalism through my email contacts. And when we arrived we were

  • Luxury with a view. Shows off all the fine things in lovely Portovenere

    This is a fine hotel with all things wonderful. Rooms facing the marina & harbor can't be beat. All the amenities are lovely. Whether you are just enjoying drinks, breakfast

    [Linda C - October 2016]

  • Amazing view, Amazing staff! Best hotel in town!

    The Grand Hotel gives you the best view in town without a doubt. Excellent view of the sea and is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There is a grotto and church within 5 min walking distance

  • An Absolute Gem!

    What a beautiful location! The finest hotel in the Portovenere/La Spezia area. And it's made all that much better by the outstanding personal care from the professional staff, an excellent breakfast buffet, and

  • Probably one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at!

    Loved, loved, loved this hotel! From arrival in the parking garage to our check out, it was pure professionalism! The location cannot be faulted - right on the edge of the Gulf of Poets, it overlooks the little harbour and seafront restaurants and shops and if you are lucky enough to get one of the front rooms with a balcony (which you should pay extra for), you will not be sorry. The sunset and sunrise are like nothing we have ever experienced!
    The breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant are superb! We ate one dinner in the restaurant as a treat - expensive but an experience not to be missed.
    The rooms are gorgeous and clean.
    The ferry is situated right outside the hotel so easy to get to Cinque Terre on a day trip. We also travelled by rental car to Portofino which was also easy to reach.
    Do not miss the sunset from the church at the tip of the mainland - it is something that you cannot describe!
    I have recommended this hotel to all my friends planning to travel to Italy - this town and this hotel cannot be missed.

    [Jenny-Lee H - June 2018]

  • 5 Star Service Waterfront Hotel

    Have traveled for two weeks in Italy and stayed at some of the best hotels but none of them had as good of service as this hotel it’s a wonderful location for visiting the small towns and has plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The service at this Hotel from the front desk to the bellman to the bartender on the terrace overlooking the ocean was absolutely fantastic. That drinks were wonderful , the rooms although not very large were modern with all the conveniences you would want and comfortable bedding. Their drink menu was the largest and most comprehensive drink menu we’ve seen in all the towns we visited in Italy. I would make a special trip just to stay at this waterfront hotel if you are ever near this area I guarantee you you will not be disappointed and I’m in New York tough critic.

    [Lance S - USA - June 2018]

  • Five Stars

    This a simply wonderful Hotel which deserves five stars. We stayed in a beautifully appointed junior suite, very comfortable bed, daily turn down service and all amenities that you need. The room was very clean with terrific views from its spacious terrace. Each day we received warm, friendly and professional service from every member of staff we encountered from the reception staff, porters, drivers, chambermaids, bar and restaurant staff - really nothing was too much trouble and service came with a smile. Particular mention to Giovanni in the bar who gave great service and a warm welcome and also Alessandro. Reception staff were really helpful with advice on trains and taxis. It was a very nice touch to receive a welcome bottle of Prosecco in our room and the breakfast buffet selection was very extensive and much better than many five star establishments we have visited over the years. The views form the bar and restaurant terrace are breath taking and it is a great place to watch the world go by. Highly recommend this Hotel and would love to return.

     

    [C.B. - UK - September 2017]

  • The highlight of our northern tour of Italy!

     Wow this place is great!

    The gem of Italy and gateway to Cinque Terra. We chose Portovenere as we felt that the Cinque Terre would be a little too busy and we were right.

    The room we had was stunning as we had a balcony and an amazing view to the sea. The sunsets and sunrises were wonderful and some great photos were taken.

    The room was very clean and staff were amazing always friendly and very helpful. So helpful in fact that they went out of their way to book a dentist appointment after my husband had an issue with a tooth. They then booked a cab to take us to the dentist and made sure we left with a map to make sure we were not to get lost. Later they even checked that all went well with the tooth repair and taxi trip.

    What more could we have wished for? These people were first class. Thanks!!

     

    [JohJoyce - Australia - October 2017]

  • Amazing Views

    This hotel is all about the view. It was stunning. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the water and town and words can't describe how pretty it is. I would highly recommend the hotel if you plan on visiting the Cinque Terre area. We had a drink outside on the patio just enjoying the views, food was very good, parking was easier than we thought it would be and the ferry is right across the street.

    If you are visiting Cinque Terre, this is a perfect hotel!

     

    [Kate P - Illinois - October 2017]

  • Location, Location Location

    We had a room with a terrace facing the sea. It was an enjoyable experience to watch the sun setting over this charming village. Portovenere is the honorary sixth town of the Cinque Terre without as many tourists. You can get the ferry to Cinque Terre at the pier in front of the hotel. 

    [Janet A - New York City - October 2016]

  • Spectacular Seaside Setting

    5-star accommodations, service and food with a spectacular view of the port and village. Steps to anything you want, and the ferry to Cinque Terre is right at the front door. A leisurely professionalism sets the tone here and the decor and amenities are top notch. We had a fantastic stay here. 

    [dhlc416 - Toronto, Canada -  October 2016]

  • The best stay while traveling through 5 Terre

    Spectacular views with a Cinque Terre-like village all in one. The rooms are very modern with soft spa-like colors with nice sized rooms with large bathrooms too. Besides the AMAZING sea view there is a smaller town filled with the best restaurants right on the harbor and the shopping is fantastic. After visiting Cinque Terre and seeing how high the prices were there i actually went back to Porto Venere to buy gifts to take home for the family...There was more selection and half the price too. The medieval castle was stunning and created an amazing backdrop for pics. The resort staff were sooo accommodating and always willing to help in any way possible to make your stay even better. While visiting the spectacular 5 Terre you would miss out if you didn't have the chance to stay at the Grand Hotel Porto Venere...My husband and I will be back. Thank you for making us feel extra-special<3.


    [Lynne092, October 2016]

  • Excellent starting place to visit Cinque Terre

    We chose this town (Portovenere) as a good place to explore the Cinque Terre.
    This hotel is right on the water and the ferries to the Cinque Terre are right there, so it is easy to visit them by ferry, hop on and hop off, and make your choice of towns to see, visit, or even hike.

    We chose a room with a balcony on the second floor, which was great, as we had a perfect view of the town, and could enjoy a glass of wine on our terrace each evening.

    [BFWong - New York, USA - July 2016]

  • One of the best!

    My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights at the end the end of September, and even before we got there I got an impression of friendliness and professionalism through my email contacts. And when we arrived we were greeted with big smiles and a great welcome. The smiles lasted the whole 9 days that we spent here, the reception staff always welcoming and asking how our day was, they were brilliant at giving local knowledge and advice on where to eat, and even organised a nice trip to the Carara marble quarries.housekeeping staff were great, kept our room spotless, and did a great job.
    We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and had excellent friendly service and fantastic local food. The restaurant staff were very professional at the evening meal and also at the fantastic breakfasts that were included.the hotel was an older building which has been refurbished to an extremely high standard.
    And I couldn't finish without mentioning Giovani and Alessandro the bar staff, they were just as friendly as all the other staff and really good at their job and kept us entertained and in drinks most evenings, Giovani giving me different options grappa every evening!
    And a final mention to the manager who left us a a nice welcome present and hand written note on our arrival.
    Well done all at the grand hotel, keep up the good work. [Merfyn J - October 2016]

  • Luxury with a view. Shows off all the fine things in lovely Portovenere

    This is a fine hotel with all things wonderful. Rooms facing the marina & harbor can't be beat. All the amenities are lovely. Whether you are just enjoying drinks, breakfast or dinner the view from the marvelous outside deck with a view to the sea, marina & church on the hill couldn't be better located. It is so relaxing watching all the activities of the marina below- whether it be fishing boats, tour boats or luxury yachts. This is a hotel where you leave & know you will want to return.

    [Linda C - October 2016]

  • Amazing view, Amazing staff! Best hotel in town!

    The Grand Hotel gives you the best view in town without a doubt. Excellent view of the sea and is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There is a grotto and church within 5 min walking distance that are both breathtaking. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We were greeted by name each and ever time we came and left...always asking if everything was alright and if we needed assistance with anything. The room was very clean and the shower was the best that we had on our 2 week trip throughout Italy. Would definitely stay here again.

    [Derek P - October 2016]

  • An Absolute Gem!

    What a beautiful location! The finest hotel in the Portovenere/La Spezia area. And it's made all that much better by the outstanding personal care from the professional staff, an excellent breakfast buffet, and proximity to the periodic daily ferry departures to Cinque Terre and Palmyra Island. Book a room at the front of the hotel and enjoy a picture-postcard view every day. Small grocery just steps down the walk for in-room snacks. Walking distance from the San Pietro church, and the San Lorenzo church/castle complex is just up the hill. Quite a hill, but well worth the walk.
    [CaseyScott1 - Denver, USA - October 2016]

Book Direct: Exclusive Advantages