Grand Hotel Portovenere Reviews

Your reviews matter to us!

We take immense pride in reading the reviews left by our guests, the great majority of which appreciate our well-appointed rooms, friendly staff, excellent dining  and strategic location in the Italian Riviera . The management team at Grand Hotel Portovenere reads all reviews to further look into improvement opportunities and to keep delivering unforgettable experiences near the Cinque Terre.

  • Location, Location Location

    We had a room with a terrace facing the sea. It was an enjoyable experience to watch the sun setting over this charming village. Portovenere is the honorary sixth town of the Cinque Terre without as many tourists.

  • Spectacular Seaside Setting

    5-star accommodations, service and food with a spectacular view of the port and village. Steps to anything you want, and the ferry to Cinque Terre is right at the front door. A leisurely professionalism sets the

  • The best stay while traveling through 5 Terre

    Spectacular views with a Cinque Terre-like village all in one. The rooms are very modern with soft spa-like colors with nice sized rooms with large bathrooms too. Besides the AMAZING sea view there is a smaller

  • Excellent starting place to visit Cinque Terre

    We chose this town (Portovenere) as a good place to explore the Cinque Terre.
    This hotel is right on the water and the ferries to the Cinque Terre are right there, so it is easy to visit them by ferry, hop

  • One of the best!

    My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights at the end the end of September, and even before we got there I got an impression of friendliness and professionalism through my email contacts. And when we arrived we were

  • Luxury with a view. Shows off all the fine things in lovely Portovenere

    This is a fine hotel with all things wonderful. Rooms facing the marina & harbor can't be beat. All the amenities are lovely. Whether you are just enjoying drinks, breakfast

    [Linda C - October 2016]

  • Amazing view, Amazing staff! Best hotel in town!

    The Grand Hotel gives you the best view in town without a doubt. Excellent view of the sea and is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There is a grotto and church within 5 min walking distance

  • An Absolute Gem!

    What a beautiful location! The finest hotel in the Portovenere/La Spezia area. And it's made all that much better by the outstanding personal care from the professional staff, an excellent breakfast buffet, and

  • Location, Location Location

    We had a room with a terrace facing the sea. It was an enjoyable experience to watch the sun setting over this charming village. Portovenere is the honorary sixth town of the Cinque Terre without as many tourists. You can get the ferry to Cinque Terre at the pier in front of the hotel. 

    [Janet A - New York City - October 2016]

  • Spectacular Seaside Setting

    5-star accommodations, service and food with a spectacular view of the port and village. Steps to anything you want, and the ferry to Cinque Terre is right at the front door. A leisurely professionalism sets the tone here and the decor and amenities are top notch. We had a fantastic stay here. 

    [dhlc416 - Toronto, Canada -  October 2016]

  • The best stay while traveling through 5 Terre

    Spectacular views with a Cinque Terre-like village all in one. The rooms are very modern with soft spa-like colors with nice sized rooms with large bathrooms too. Besides the AMAZING sea view there is a smaller town filled with the best restaurants right on the harbor and the shopping is fantastic. After visiting Cinque Terre and seeing how high the prices were there i actually went back to Porto Venere to buy gifts to take home for the family...There was more selection and half the price too. The medieval castle was stunning and created an amazing backdrop for pics. The resort staff were sooo accommodating and always willing to help in any way possible to make your stay even better. While visiting the spectacular 5 Terre you would miss out if you didn't have the chance to stay at the Grand Hotel Porto Venere...My husband and I will be back. Thank you for making us feel extra-special<3.


    [Lynne092, October 2016]

  • Excellent starting place to visit Cinque Terre

    We chose this town (Portovenere) as a good place to explore the Cinque Terre.
    This hotel is right on the water and the ferries to the Cinque Terre are right there, so it is easy to visit them by ferry, hop on and hop off, and make your choice of towns to see, visit, or even hike.

    We chose a room with a balcony on the second floor, which was great, as we had a perfect view of the town, and could enjoy a glass of wine on our terrace each evening.

    [BFWong - New York, USA - July 2016]

  • One of the best!

    My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights at the end the end of September, and even before we got there I got an impression of friendliness and professionalism through my email contacts. And when we arrived we were greeted with big smiles and a great welcome. The smiles lasted the whole 9 days that we spent here, the reception staff always welcoming and asking how our day was, they were brilliant at giving local knowledge and advice on where to eat, and even organised a nice trip to the Carara marble quarries.housekeeping staff were great, kept our room spotless, and did a great job.
    We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and had excellent friendly service and fantastic local food. The restaurant staff were very professional at the evening meal and also at the fantastic breakfasts that were included.the hotel was an older building which has been refurbished to an extremely high standard.
    And I couldn't finish without mentioning Giovani and Alessandro the bar staff, they were just as friendly as all the other staff and really good at their job and kept us entertained and in drinks most evenings, Giovani giving me different options grappa every evening!
    And a final mention to the manager who left us a a nice welcome present and hand written note on our arrival.
    Well done all at the grand hotel, keep up the good work. [Merfyn J - October 2016]

  • Luxury with a view. Shows off all the fine things in lovely Portovenere

    This is a fine hotel with all things wonderful. Rooms facing the marina & harbor can't be beat. All the amenities are lovely. Whether you are just enjoying drinks, breakfast or dinner the view from the marvelous outside deck with a view to the sea, marina & church on the hill couldn't be better located. It is so relaxing watching all the activities of the marina below- whether it be fishing boats, tour boats or luxury yachts. This is a hotel where you leave & know you will want to return.

    [Linda C - October 2016]

  • Amazing view, Amazing staff! Best hotel in town!

    The Grand Hotel gives you the best view in town without a doubt. Excellent view of the sea and is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There is a grotto and church within 5 min walking distance that are both breathtaking. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We were greeted by name each and ever time we came and left...always asking if everything was alright and if we needed assistance with anything. The room was very clean and the shower was the best that we had on our 2 week trip throughout Italy. Would definitely stay here again.

    [Derek P - October 2016]

  • An Absolute Gem!

    What a beautiful location! The finest hotel in the Portovenere/La Spezia area. And it's made all that much better by the outstanding personal care from the professional staff, an excellent breakfast buffet, and proximity to the periodic daily ferry departures to Cinque Terre and Palmyra Island. Book a room at the front of the hotel and enjoy a picture-postcard view every day. Small grocery just steps down the walk for in-room snacks. Walking distance from the San Pietro church, and the San Lorenzo church/castle complex is just up the hill. Quite a hill, but well worth the walk.
    [CaseyScott1 - Denver, USA - October 2016]

Book Direct: Exclusive Advantages